Yoga Hangover

Morning everyone. I woke up this morning to a giant headache… I don’t get headaches… ever! This week though I have had two. Tuesday morning and this morning. I am 99% sure it is because after an hour and a half of Ashtanga yoga last night and Monday night, I did not hydrate. Period. I may have had a cup of water total but nothing more. I finished yoga at 8:30pm and was in bed by 10:30pm.

Mistake to learn from: Always hydrate after exercise, especially after evening workouts because your less likely to top up your fluids before bed.

The best thing I thought I could do to minimize the yoga hangover this morning was to make a GIANT SMOOTHIE!

The 15 best foods to eat for hydration are:

  1. Cucumbers
  2. Coconut water
  3. Watermelon
  4. Green Beauty Detox Smoothies ( see smoothies page for lots of ideas)
  5. Cabbage
  6. Iced Rooibos Tea
  7. Green Leafy Salads
  8. Apples
  9. Red bell peppers
  10. Pineapples
  11. Grapefruit
  12. Celery
  13. Water with lemon
  14. Berries
  15. Carrots

The smoothie I made this morning contains 5 of these ingredients. Not bad considering I didn’t know they where the best for hydrating until now.

Yoga Hangover Smoothie

Makes: 2 extra large servings Prep-Time: 10 minutes

Nutrients:

  • 4 apples, freshly juiced
  • 4 bananas
  • 4 cups of fresh strawberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1 1/2 heads of lettuce
  • 1/2 celery stick
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 12 Ice cubes
  1. Using your at home juicer, juice your 4 apples then pour juice into your blender.
  2. Combine remaining ingredients in you blender. Blend until smooth.

Leave a Reply

