Preforming Speeches and Drinking Peaches

Hi Everyone. What a week this has been. For those of you who don’t know, I belong to a local Toast Masters Club. Toast Masters is an organisation that strives to help people perfect the art of public speaking. I find that I am fairly comfortable talking in front of an audience, however I would love to become more engaging and persuasive towards audiences in the future. This is why I joined TM.

Yesterday evening I preformed my 1st speech. The purpose of your first speech is to talk about you. Comments where made after the speech about my current strengths and things I will need to improve on as I progress. Below I have copied my speech if you care to read it.

In other news, I have been making delicious salads and refreshing summer juices. Check them out, they were really good.

Apple Lemonade

Makes: 1 serving Prep Time: 2 minutes Juice Time: 30 seconds

Nutrients:

  • 2 apples
  • 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 tbsp sprouts
  • Ice
  1. Cut apples and lemon. Pour into juicer. Transfer to glass with ice.

Quinoa and Couscous Salad with Orange Ginger Dressing

Makes: 2-3 servings Prep Time: 40 minutes Cook Time: 20 minutes

Nutrients:

Salad:

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 2 cups cooked Israeli or traditional couscous
  • 1 cup green peas (fresh or frozen, if frozen thaw before using)
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 1 cup corn (fresh or frozen, if frozen thaw before using)
  • 1 cup red peppers, diced
  • 1 cup orange peppers, diced
  • 1/2 cup fresh parsley and cilantro, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
Dressing:
  • 2 orange
  • 1 apple
  • 1 lime
  • 1 inch ginger
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt
  1. For the salad, cook your quinoa and couscous while chopping up vegetables. Once cooked, allow for grains to cool (15-20 minutes). Once cooled, place all salad ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  2. To make the dressing, place all ingredients except for the apple cider vinegar and salt in a juicer. Add apple cider vinegar and salt to juiced mixture. Combine and drizzle on top of salad ingredients.
  3. Toss and serve. (I add some homemade croutons to garnish but that is optional)
Speech #1 : Training Like A Gladiator 

Life is full of overcoming great obstacles, making quick decisions and turning a bad situation into something good.  Alexander Graham Bell said “Before anything else, preparation is the key to success”.

Up until this year, my life has seemed to be nothing more than a training ground preparing me for success in my future and hopefully success in being happy. I see my life up until now as if I were a gladiator training for the battle of a lifetime; this battle in my case being the battle of life as an adult.

When children reach adulthood and are ready to make their way into the real world, in this day and age, they must be prepared for what’s to come; Taxes, debt, sickness, aging, mortgages, employment, etc. Without being prepared for this responsibly of adulthood, success, in my opinion, is much harder to achieve.

Growing up I always wanted to be an independent women, much like Melanie Griffith in the movie “The Working Girl”. In order to achieve the successful life I envisioned, I would need to prepare for this life, much like a gladiator prepares before battle.

In my senior year of high school I decided that I was going to become an environmental engineer. This decision came to me after seeing the environment around me begin to crumble.

“How is a fighter such as me supposed to become a success if the world around me is falling apart? “ I wanted my coliseum of life to be, well, full of life.

Throughout high school I spent my Friday nights doing homework, filling my mind with useful fundamentals for calculus and chemistry. Having these basic skills, I knew, would prepare me for my university career and help me tackle evil errors on exams and create magical stimulating drinks for late night studying.

Before I entered university, I constantly heard horror stories of how hard a degree was to get and how run down your body would become due to lack of sleep, poor nutrition and over all stress.

Hearing this I thought to myself, “A gladiator cannot fight for his or her life without good health. Much the same, how am I supposed to succeed in this world without my own good health?”

Thinking about my current generation and the lack of optimal health we posses, I came to the conclusion that I had to make a choice, a choice to make health my number one priority in life.

To be the success I wanted to be, I needed to be strong and healthy. Being healthy would allow me to work towards a successful career, to build a home in the future, to eventually start a family and at this present time, to get my degree.

With that said, in the winter of 2006 I became vegetarian. Everyone always says you should eat your fruits and vegetables so why not base my diet around these foods. In 2009 however, when university started, I found I did not have the energy needed to get through the mountain load of homework I had. Since knowledge is power, I decided to research nutrition and health and what one could do to increase their energy without addictive substances.

Half way through my second year of university I made the decision to go vegan. This change in life style did in fact dramatically increase my energy to the point where I was able to finish assignments and labs up to 4 days before they were due.

This new found energy also gave me what I needed to continue making my body healthy and fit, ready for the world, by improving my fitness. When I say fitness I don’t mean a simple jog here and there, I mean sweat dripping, muscles acing, heart beat racing workouts. Our bodies are meant to be worked. Once we stop moving, we start to lose our mobility and our vitality. Sure enough I could not be successful in life if I was unable to walk from one end of the office to the other.

Increasing my fitness over the last few years has allowed me to experience the world in a new light. To date, I have participated in 30 charity runs, competed in a world cup triathlon held in Vancouver, raced in Belgium and done yoga on sandy beaches.

I am now heading into my final year of university. As of April 2013 I will be leaping from my protective bubble into adulthood.

Creating a career, paying off loans, and growing old are all things that I am going to encounter in my next stage of life and my battle for success. Until now I have been in training mode, preparing my mind and body for these enormous obstacles. Like a gladiator I am near the end of my training, almost ready to go into battle. I feel I am prepared for what I need to succeed by being healthy, fit and mentally prepared to take on whatever challenges life has to bring.

Until the time comes when I have been defeated by this beast called life (which I hope isn’t for another 80 years) I will fight for what I want and hopefully achieve the success I have been preparing for.

3 thoughts on “Preforming Speeches and Drinking Peaches

  1. I know this if off topic but Im looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get set up? Im assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? Im not very web savvy so Im not 100% sure. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

