Eat Your Veggies!

Hey guys and happy Monday to everyone!

I’ve been sick the past four days with an awful stomach flu of sorts… no energy, sore stomach, headache, fever, you name it. Despite all my efforts, I ended up putting a lot of cereal and breads into my system when I ate. It got me thinking about how food really is the best medicine and how eating for the body to thrive really is the best way to ensure proper health. Being sick and eating nothing nutritious sure as heck hasn’t gotten me better, so why not try some veggies!…. not some, LOTS!!  Over the next two days my goal is to eat tones of kale and spinach smoothies, fresh veggies and hummus and load up on fresh fruits… Its all easy to digest and hopefully will give my body what it needs to fight for its health :) Even if your not sick, loading up on veggies is the best thing you can do for your body. Try and go organic as much as possible to ensure your not consuming chemicals.

I am doing a 31 day hot yoga challenge. I started last Monday and went 4 days straight before I became ill. I got back to it yesterday and am going tonight… This would be the 6 time in the past 8 days! If your an avid exerciser’s  like myself, I highly recommend shaking up your routine and trying a month of straight yoga…. you may think your fit but change up your routine and you’ll realize there is a lot more you can do to make your body a machine.

Have a lovely week everyone.

Happy veggie hunting!
Veggies

Veggies2

Veggies3

One thought on “Eat Your Veggies!

  1. I like your approach. I would suggest however that veggies that have high caloric value be used. Recall that in time of infection your body is using a lot of energy to support the immune response. You want to support this. Cooked food and in particular soups will be more rapidly digested and available for caloric processing. Also, as long as the food stays down (no vomiting or diarrhea) increased consumption should help. In the event things don’t stay down electrolytes become a concern. A mineral rich salt helps. Potassium, sodium, and calciumn are the most prominant electrolytes. Even though it is a processed “food” , naturally sweetened (cane sugar or beet sugar) sports drinks such as gatoraid may help. Avoid the artificials such as Aspartame which are inflammatory. Inflammation needs to be internally driven and contolled by the body when you are sick. Adding an inflammatory compound complicates natural inflammation…. Hope my thoughts are of help.

Leave a Reply

